Justice BV Nagarathana to become first Woman Chief Justice of India in 2027

The Centre, on Thursday, cleared the appointment of nine judges to the Supreme Court of India, with BV Nagarathana, A Karnataka High Court Judge, set to become the first Woman Chief Justice of the Apex Court of India in 2027, by way of her seniority. Along with Nagarathana, the 3rd senior-most judge of Karnataka High Court, two more women judges, namely, Justice Hima Kohli who is the Chief Justice of Telangana High Court and Justice Bela Trivedi, 5th Senior-most judge, of Gujarat High Court are the part of nine judges, who were all recommended by the top court’s collegium, appointed to the Supreme Court after the President of India signed their appointment on Thursday.

The collegium comprising 5 senior-most judges of the apex court namely Chief Justice NV Ramana, Justice UU Lalit, Justice AM Khanwilkar, DYChandrachud and Justice L Nageshwara Rao had recommended the nine names for these elevations on August 19 which were further cleared bu PMO on August 26. These appointments comes nearly two years after the previous appointment in the Supreme Court in September 2019. With these elevations of the nine judges, the Supreme Court would become 1 judge short of its sanctioned strength of 34, up from previous 24.

Elevated from the Karnataka High Court, Justice BV Nagarathana would be becoming the first ever Chief Justice of India in 2027. She is the daughter of former Chief Justice of India, Justice E.S. Venkataramiah was the 19th Chief justice of India and held the post for almost 6 months in 1989.

Among others elevated to the Supreme Court are Gujarat High Court Chief Justice Vikram Nath Karnataka High Court Chief justice AS Oka, Sikkim High Court Chief Justice JK Maheshwari, Justice CT Ravikumar from Kerala High Court, Justice MM Sudresh from Madras High Court and Senior Advocate PS Narsimha. Senior Advocate PS Narsimha who was also former Additional Solicitor General, would be becoming 6th lawyer to be elevated to Supreme Court directly from the bar.  Justice Vikram Nath and Senior Advocate PS Narsimha are also in-line to become Chief Justices of India.

The swearing-in ceremony of the nine judges is likely to take place by August 31 before Telangana High Court Chief Justice Hima Kohli retires on September 1 at the age of 62 as retiring age of High Court judges is 62 years while that of Supreme Court judges is 65 years.Departing from the usual practice of having the ceremony in CJI’s courtroom, the ceremony would be held in the new auditorium of Supreme Court in the additional building near PragatiMaidan Railway Station. The oath taking ceremony would be live telecasted on DD News and DD India and would also be available on Supreme Court’s official news portal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s